Old Habits Never Die – What I’m Listening To

So it looks like I haven’t posted in about a year.  Sorry for all the unanswered comments, lack of activity, etc.  I don’t particularly know what has caused me to want to post again, but here it is.

Here’s a quick list of what I’ve been listening to as of late:

  • John Mayer, especially live recordings.  Last weekend I took a little road trip to Chicago to visit a friend there and to see John Mayer in concert.  He played a particularly bluesy set with plenty of nifty riffs and sweet solos.  It was a solidly enjoyable show, with a lot of deep cuts for die-hard fans as well as a couple of his hit singles (although he made a point to mention that he didn’t want to, and didn’t, play “Your Body Is A Wonderland”).Yesterday, I picked up a copy of “Where The Light Is,” his latest CD release.  A two disc set, “Where The Light Is” is a live recording of a December, 2007 show at the Nokia Theater in LA.  The show was divided into three separate sets – a five-song acoustic set, an eight-song John Mayer Trio set, and nine songs performed with his current band.I’m a big fan of the Trio, and it’s always nice to hear recordings of their shows, especially recordings of songs previously unpublished by the Trio, like “Everyday I Have The Blues,” and “Come When I Call.”  The album also includes a great acoustic cover of Tom Petty’s “Free Fallin’.”
  • I also picked up a copy of “Stay Positive,” The Hold Steady’s latest release.  I’ve yet to listen to the album, but their single, “Sequestered in Memphis,” is one of my current favorites.  Listen to the track here.

I’ll try to avoid big between-post gaps like this in the future.  Thanks for reading!

Image Source:  Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

