Concert Review: Panic! At The Disco (et al.), Detroit, MI

Last night, I had the honor of attending one of the biggest shows to hit Detroit this year: Panic! At The Disco, Jack’s Mannequin, and Plain White T’s…

The show opened up with an extensive set by Plain White T’s, a band not many people know, including myself. Previous to this concert, I had only one or two of their songs. After the show, however, I am much more interested in this band. The set didn’t exactly blow me away as did the other two, but it was still a very enjoyable one. The band plays live very well together, which is generally a sign that their recorded songs are also of a high quality.

But after an extended set change, the second band, Jack’s Mannequin (recently featured in the Dec. 2006 preview of On Tour) played a short set, as lead singer Andrew McMahon claimed to be sick. He didn’t sound sick, though: all of the songs he played, from “I’m Ready,” to “MFEO,” all sounded just as good as the studio performances, perhaps even better. His on-stage energy was incredible, making up for the guitarists’ placid appearances (although, the bassist was drinking Maker’s Mark on stage). For fans of JM, seeing a live performance makes the band seem so much better.

And finally…the main event: Panic! At The Disco came on stage with the most interesting concert stage I’ve seen in a long while. The drumset, bass, and keyboards sit on raised platforms behind the main area, where the dancers and singers entertain a crowd painted on a curtain covering the back of the stage. The whole show is set up like a circus (with freaky makeup and costumes to match), but the music is all Panic! Well, with the exception of their excellent cover of Queen’s “She’s A Killer.” Other memorable moments include the intermissions of pantomime performances by the backup dancers and the drumline segment which the whole band performed. Overall, I truly enjoyed every set in this show, and highly recommend picking up tickets to the remaining shows, if you can. It’s really one of the greatest shows on earth.

5 responses to “Concert Review: Panic! At The Disco (et al.), Detroit, MI

  1. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving From Markfive « Markfive Blog

  2. Dave from Battle Ground WA

    I am a 41 year old Dad that took my 13 year old son and 2 of his friends to the Portland OR December 1, 2006 show and I think I should be thanking them! Wow…I was so surprised and so entertained!! I had to caution the boys, since this was their first concert, not to expect other concerts to be this exciting. I had never heard of these guys before yesterday and now I can’t stop talking about the super show they put on.

  3. Hi, I have some live Panic at The Disco concerts and more you can watch/listen to for free on my website

    http://theotherside1.co.uk/music/index.php

    Enjoy !

  4. Pingback: Markfive Blog Concert Review: Jack’s Mannequin West Coast Winter Tour, State Theater, Detroit, MI «

  5. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

Leave a Reply

