Update: iTunes+Facebook Rock List

As promised, here is my mini-review of the first of several iTunes+Facebook exclusive playlistsiTunes is becoming really friendly and branching out to its key markets. I really appreciate these free songs. Enough sucking up to Apple, here are my favorite songs from the list.

  1. Second Skin
    Widespread Panic
    This is probably the most innovative and unique tracks on the whole list. It’s a bit dreary, but the way it’s composed makes it very interesting. It seems a lot like techno mixed with rock mixed with jazz. But trust me, it works.
  2. Move By Yourself
    Donavon Frankenreiter
    Another jazz + rock song, Move has a great rhythm that’s sure to make you move (awful pun intended). This song reminds me of Gnarls Barkley’s smash hit Crazy. Both songs came out this year, so there shouldn’t be any accusations of plagiarism. My suggestion: download both songs, see which one you like better.
  3. Rooftops (A Liberation Broadcast)
    Lostprophets
    Fans of the band will absolutely love this track (I would know). It’s typical fare for the band, but they do what they do (LOUD rock) so well that it makes every song excellent. Expect a review of their latest album soon.
  4. The Coldest Heart
    The Classic Crime
    This is typical rock. But it’s done well and has a good rhythm. It bears a lot of similarity to Rooftops, so if you liked that song, give this one a try. If I had to pick one, I’d go with Lostprophets.
  5. It’s You
    Annie Stela
    This is a good romantic song that serves as an intermission for this album. Yeah it’s pretty girly, but it’s good. I’ve got a soft spot for songs with piano incorporation.
  6. Release
    Intangible
    Great rhythm, great sound overall. Pretty slow, but it reminds me of Stone Temple Pilots. I’m beginning to notice a trend of imitation in these tracks…
  7. Big City Concrete Wildflowers
    The Terms
    This song has a bit of a country feel, but not too much. It reminds me more of the Goo Goo Dolls than anything.

Those are my top picks this list. Overall, it’s not bad. Keep in mind that this list was chosen by college students, so if you like college rock, give the whole thing a try (I’ve got a complete track listing in my first post about the list).

As iTunes+Facebook release more lists, I’ll have reviews and updates, so stay posted.

Also, we’ve reached a new record yesterday (August 11, 2006) for the most site visits in one day: 45! Thanks to everyone who’s making this blog successful. Keep reading and keep commenting!

ALSO, I’ve updated the billboard

Leave a Reply

