Album Review – All We Know Is Falling (Paramore)

Yes, I finally have the review of Paramore’s 2005 debut album All We Know Is Falling…so here it is
Not many bands with female leads can make it today: the music industry seems to have a particularly male bias. It takes a special kind of band to break through, male- or female-led. From what I’ve heard, Paramore definately has the right stuff to become incredibly popular.

This album is an extremely strong debut, although it is a shame that it has been out for around a year. In general, the band has a strong punk/scene sound typical to their label (Fueled by Ramen). The first song is a strong, loud wake up call perfectly suited to its position on the album. From there, the record continues with more upbeat tunes like Pressure and Brighter. Later tracks like Conspiracy and Franklin provide a darker contrast to preceding songs.

Don’t be mistaken, though: the band’s overall sound is quite upbeat and not at all depressing. All of the band’s members do their part extremely well: the drummer’s fills are on time and crisp while the guitarists keep up with the frequently changing rhythms with ease.

The lyrics are pretty typical fare for this sort of band: Nothing too deep, but nothing too shallow at the same time. They do fit the band and the lead singer, whose voice is raw but quite talented and well-controlled. She has just the right range for her band.

The album overall is mastered well with a defined bass and (usually) crisp treble. This album manages to do something that many other albums fail to achieve: it is easy to listen to but also provides for some great in-depth listening experiences. In other words, you can listen to it passively and enjoy it just as much as if you were heavily concentrating on the music.

The album art and booklet are pretty dull, but the band probably wasn’t given a very big budget, so this is forgivable. The cover and back are somewhat interesting to look at, but the booklet is very plain. I suppose it doesn’t really matter; most people probably only look at those things once.
If you couldn’t already tell, I love this album; you probably will to as it is very accessible. Therefore, I believe I’ll give it my highest honor: 5 out of 5. Please please support this talented and exciting band and buy this album. You won’t regret it.

Paramore’s debut album All We Know Is Falling was released 2005 on Fueled by Ramen.

Track Listing:

  1. All We Know
  2. Pressure
  3. Emergency
  4. Brighter
  5. Here We Go Again
  6. Never Let This Go
  7. Whoa
  8. Conspiracy
  9. Franklin
  10. My Heart

Notable Tracks: Pressure, Emergency, Brighter, Here We Go Again, Whoa

Buy this album (physical media) from Fueled by Ramen Media Portal ($10)
Buy this album (digital media) from Fueled by Ramen Media Portal ($10)

I’ll have a review of Cartel’s album Chroma up soon. I promise.


7 responses to “Album Review – All We Know Is Falling (Paramore)

  1. Hey man, nice review. Sounds like you may want to do a profile on Haley Williams. OMG, they have a concert in SF this weekend and you just missed it! Tell us something about your trip. What the scene like out on the left coast? Love them california girls.

  2. They’re coming to Detroit sometime in early August, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to go.

    Berkeley was really nice; I had a lot of fun but i’m glad to be home at the same time.

    But yes, I may want to do a profile on her

  3. u in detroit? do u carry a gun?

  4. Pingback: Bloom brian

  5. Heyy Dude

  6. zdfg

    call me hayley

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s